Book Review: Emma of Aurora by Jane Kirkpatrick – the detailed hisory of this book is phenomenal

732156When I first requested this review copy, I didn’t realize that the book came as a volume. I’m half-way through the second book and have been enjoying the adventure this story has brought me on from the get-go. Although I’m not quite finished, I needed to get the word out as it is well worth the read.

The novels are written in the first person and in such a way that it literally feels as though you are experiencing everything the protagonist does. The details in the text also go above and beyond anything I’ve read in a long time. The time period and personalities are both very believable and realistic, showing that the author has done their research (paired with the incredible gift of their own imagination and the ability to write, of course).

The story is written with heart, adventure and gripping action. Jane also captures what we see in our own culture today, or at least what I’ve seen and experienced in my own life. Emma’s culture believes much as my own did (small-town America) did when I was growing up and since I share the same views of being in the world and not of it made this story come alive for me in ways that others don’t.

Jane Kirkpatrick paints Emma’s story in a historical setting. Her life isn’t perfect, but in the imperfection, God shines through. I think readers will appreciate the rich detail and our protagonist’s longing to live a life pleasing to God. Having this come as a volume to read at one time is a huge plus too for those who like to read an entire series together rather than having to hunt down the other books in the series. This was a great read!

I received this book from WaterBrook Multnomah for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are my own.

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Emma of Aurora by Jane Kirkpatrick – the detailed hisory of this book is phenomenal

  1. sbobet April 3, 2014 at 2:04 AM Reply

    Hi excellent blog! Does running a blog such as this require a great deal of work?
    I have absolutely no knowledge of programming but I was hoping to start my own blog in the
    near future. Anyway, should you have any suggestions or tips for
    new blog owners please share. I know this is off topic nevertheless I simply
    had to ask. Many thanks!

  2. chicken 5 pound October 21, 2014 at 2:54 PM Reply

    I feel this is among the so much significant information for me.
    And i am satisfied reading your article. However should
    commentary on some normal things, The web site style is wonderful, the articles is really great : D.
    Excellent process, cheers

Leave a Reply

