an invitation…

It’s a new year.

A new day. Well, it’s evening…the minutes drawing so close to my bedtime that I really and probably shouldn’t be writing this. But I’ve got that itch. You know? The one where if I don’t get this out, I won’t sleep. We’ve all been there.

And this… this is a new chance; a chance to write a new ending rather than be stuck wallowing in the past.

Anyway…

A year ago, I signed up to do a study with Proverbs 31 Ministries and learned a ton. I had joined up with women/girls all over the world to do that study – people I didn’t even know – but therein, lies the beauty of that. I had joined in with the body of Christ – all women. We learned from one another. We encouraged one another. We shed light and truth on areas that we probably wouldn’t have uncovered had we not been given that opportunity.

The perks of the internet…

And I’m doing it again.

About a month ago, I received an email regarding an upcoming study in 2014 about our cravings and learning how God can satisfy them, not to mention His goodness. If only my stubborn heart would believe that truth… aack!

Enter in Made to Crave by Lysa Terkhuerst. made to crave

This wasn’t the first time I’d heard of the book. A colleague mentioned it when I first moved to the cities (I even a had moment where my heart did a little dance at the knowledge of having another believer working with me) and after seeing it on sale at LifeWay, I bought it.

In 2012.

That book sat at the bottom of a drawer at work for two years.

I fully intended to read it, but never got around to it.

Now I am.

I’ve been wallowing in depression and a few other things the better part of this last year and because I haven’t been well emotionally, everything else is starting to fall apart.

The physical

The mental

The spiritual

We are four-part beings and if one leg on our four-legged stool isn’t sturdy enough, the whole thing could come crashing down while the other three deteriorate due to lack of attention.

No more.

I’m done wallowing.

In past instances where I’ve gone down that road, they’ve lasted years. I don’t want to go through that again. I want to be well. I want to live well.

I want to feel better than I do.

Ugh.

Side note: the frigid temperatures we’ve been experiencing this winter doesn’t help… Oh, Spring. Please hurry.

Then again, don’t.

That being said, I signed up.

That study started Monday – January 20th.

Why am I telling you this?

Because I’m inviting to join me and over 30,000 other women in taking a stand against Satan and his lies and come to really believe the truth that God is good and only through him, can we find fulfillment for those cravings.

You’ll be hearing from me off and on over the next couple of weeks – I’m inviting you to join me on this journey. I’m inviting you to be encouraged. I’m inviting you to take a stand and fight. I’m inviting you to pursue God with all that you are just as he pursues you.

You in?

 

For more information on the book, click here.

To follow Lysa, go here.

And if you’d like to join in on this adventure, check out Proverbs 31 Ministries and sign up!

Leave a Reply

