a new leaf has turned

LaCrae, a Christian artist I’ve had the opportunity to “stumble on”, posted on Facebook yesterday the following statement:

“I used to see New Year as a chance to reset, but truthfully, God gives us the chance to reset all the time!”

I agree.

The Bible also confirms this truth — God’s mercies are new with the morning. We get chance after chance after chance to start over. Thank God! (*Note…this is not a free ride to do as you please. Grace doesn’t work that way.)

And yet, I couldn’t help turning over a new leaf yesterday – January 1, 2014.

I’ve been stumbling around a dimly lit world for the better part of seven months…the after effects of ending what could have ended up a toxic relationship and making other necessary changes in my life. The only thing that lit my world was the light of God…an anchor I’ve steadfastly held on to (Hebrews 6.19) during this maddening time.

You read that right…maddening.

I’m an optimist by nature and let’s just say this bout with depression has had me at my wit’s end. I’ve been frustrated with not just the circumstances, but with myself. Voices from my childhood reared their ugly heads, telling me to “buck up” and that “grown-up girls don’t cry” or “let circumstances bring them down.”

Not to mention, Satan has attempted to have his way too…with words and phrases like

failure

hopeless

unlovable

The list goes on.

I’m proud to say that I haven’t given in. Even through my world seemed dark and I have felt weak at times, my Jesus was, and is, that much stronger. I’ve spent the majority of my time curled up in his lap (within the warm embrace of his Word), filling my mind with scripture from Psalms, Proverbs, Song of Songs, 1 Corinthians and more. He’s reminded me time and time again how much he loves me even though I sometimes struggle with the why part.

December brought strength and restoration. I’ve felt a stirring in my heart that has grown stronger…it’s still there and I have no idea what’s coming. I just know something is…

And while I’m waiting, I’m choosing now to reset.

It’s a new year.

A new day

I was reading through the first two passages of Job this morning and found myself thankful for all that I have been given – life, family, friends, meaningful relationships, a roof over my head, income so I can pay my bills and live, and more.

[I] have this hope as an anchor for [my] soul, firm and secure. Hebrews 6.19

untitled

While I wait for whatever life will be bringing me, I will cling fast to God and he will uphold me in his mighty right hand (Psalm 63.8), just as he always does.

Being a musician, I love music. David Crowder has branched out on his own and has had a few new songs on the radio — I heard one just this morning. I’ve heard it before, but the words struck me as I was writing this up:

There’s no space that His love can’t reach
There’s no place where we can’t’ find peace
There’s no end to amazing grace

Take me in with Your arms spread wide
Take me in like an orphan child
Never let go
Never leave my side

I am
Holding on to You
I am
Holding on to You
In the middle of the storm
I am holding on
I am

Love like this
Oh my God to find
I am overwhelmed
With a joy divine
Love like this sets our hearts on fire

This is my resurrection song
This is my halleluiah come
This is why it’s to You I run

There’s no space that His love can’t reach
There’s no place where we can’t find peace
There’s no end to amazing grace
– Crowder, “I Am”

Isn’t that beautiful?

There’s no space that His love can’t reach
There’s no place where we can’t find peace
There’s no end to amazing grace

I am holding on.

Sometimes, I have to take action and shake things up my own life a little bit. I could sit around and wait for God to move, but he requires action on our part, too. Besides, I would get bored waiting around, doing nothing all the time. And since I love to live (prefer it actually), I’m holding on to him and letting go of other things. Doing so required me to change my schedule, just a bit.

If 2013 taught me anything, I’ve discovered that I want Jesus’ voice to be the first that I hear in the morning and the last that I hear before I fall asleep at night. I want him to start and end my day. I long forward to it actually.

What better way to do that than to spend time with him both morning and evening?

I may not know what 2014 has in store for me, but I know who holds my future and I want him to be as involved in every detail of my day as possible.

How about you? Since God hits the reset button all the time, what changes do you need to make? What changes do you want to make? Take a stand and make them and be sure to ask for God’s help as you go about making those changes. He will guide you and he alwasy follows through.

© Anita J. Brands. 2014. Website: https://authentictruthseeker.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

