go and tell

When lo! Above the earth rang out the angels’ chorus that hailed our Savior’s birth.

“…I bring you good news that will bring great joy to all people.” Luke 2.10 NLT

What is your initial reaction when you hear good news?

Do you pick up the phone and call your closest relative, whether that be your mom or your brother? Do you contact your best friend and tell them? Or do you keep the news to yourself?

Rarely would a person do such a thing.

I remember when I was first asked to come along with a team of not just really close friends, but fellow brothers and sisters in Christ, to help plant a new church in Minneapolis. I’ll be honest in the fact that the word Minneapolis was what first made my heart sing: I’d always wanted to live in that city. But, pairing that fact with expanding the Kingdom of God in this manner…well, I couldn’t think of a better reason to move there.

When Rick, my college pastor and friend, asked if I would be interested in joining that team, I immediately said yes and, even though I was advised to keep that under wraps, I couldn’t wait to tell my folks. I called them immediately from the car:

“You wouldn’t believe the good news I have to tell you!”

That statement and the news was met with What about your job? What about your friends here? What about the life you’ve built here? Are you being paid to do this? What about us?

In short, my response was: God will provide.

He always has.

And honestly, I hadn’t really built much of a life where I lived at the time. I spent the majority of my time either at work, at my parents’ farm or in Brookings, SD, where most of my friends were. I was eager to move on to the next thing God had for me – this wasn’t all he had planned for my life and I knew it…I could feel it.

And he did provide.

He gave me a job, which I’m officially at now and a place to live, both before the permanency of my job and after.

And he continues to provide.

Just as he always has and always will.

Two thousand years ago he provided his Son – born as a baby, God confined to human flesh, who grew up, worked a 3-year ministry and gave his life to save us all from an eternity separated from him.

What love!

How could we keep that good news to ourselves?

It’s meant to be lived out. It was intended to be shared.

Go out through the gates! Prepare the highway for my people to return! Isaiah 62

Even God couldn’t keep it to Himself:

“I bring you good news that will bring great joy to all people.” Luke 2.10

He brought the Good News through the greatest spectacle possible: “a vast host” of angels appeared to seemingly random shepherds in a middle-of-nowhere field. Holy shine shone sown and their voices rang out – a show-stopping display of glory, one of the best in all of history.  And the odd part? The news was delivered to shepherds…not kings, royalty or those in high standing in their culture. This goes to show that no stone should be left unturned when we share news like this.

And Jesus himself didn’t keep this news to himself:

“I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.” – John 10.10

When he began his ministry of teaching, he did not spread the Good News by word alone, but by how he lived and what he did. The blind received sight, the lame walked and the dead were raised. He went away to spend time alone with his Father, just as we should. He modeled the way a child of God lives. He did it all to communicate beyond words what the Good News meant and he asks us to do the same.

“Therefore, go and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit. Teach these news disciples to obey all the commands I have given you.” – Jesus, Matthew 28.19-20a

Are you sharing the Good News in every way that you can? Why or why not? If not, what would it look like if you lived this out each and every day?

Go! Tell it on the mountain
Over the hills and everywhere!
Go! Tell it on the mountain
That Jesus Christ is born!

To listen to my favorite version of this song, click here.

© Anita J. Brands. 2013. Website: https://authentictruthseeker.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

