traditions: wreaths

I have a wreath hanging on my door that I’ve had for years.

It’s made of faux evergreen sprigs and is covered in red and gold balls and has a big red bow on it.

I love it.

And I’ll admit that over the years, I’ve contemplated getting a new one, but, when Thanksgiving rolls around and I haul out all of my Christmas “gear” from storage, I fall in love with it all over again.

Nope. No new wreath for me. I’m quite content with the one I currently have.

Oh – but there is hope for when I get a house/condo/apartment of my very own. Perhaps then…

A girl can dream, can’t she?

Anyway…Christmas-Wreath3-1i7y23u

Wreaths were originally used in ancient Rome as a sign of victory. Many people believe that this is where the tradition of hanging wreaths on the door comes from.

The origins of Christmas wreaths are found in folk practices when Germanic peoples would gather wreaths of evergreen in the cold December darkness and light fires as a sign of hope for the coming of spring. (Today, we see this tradition in Christmas wreaths hung on the front doors of many homes and white Christmas lights shining brightly – December, for me, is a month of hope).

By the 16th century, Catholics and Protestants throughout Germany used these symbols to celebrate Advent. They would place the wreath flat on a table of hanging parallel to the floor. They containing four candles, lighting one each week leading up to Christmas, representing the four weeks of advent.

Wreaths are circular, representing eternity. They are made from evergreen which represents life…even in the middle of winter.

Wreaths are a sign of victory.

In the same way, we are victorious because of Christ giving himself freely for our sins. It may or may not have happened 2,000 Decembers ago. We don’t know.

But I do know of the power of His saving grace that I’ve received through faith and I do that I’ll be joyfully praising Him in eternity.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

