Advent Week 3: love has come

Love came down and rescued me
Love came down and set me free
I am Yours
Jesus
I am forever Yours

Love

What more in life would we want to seek?

I know that’s the point for me. If it came to love or respect, I’d choose love each time.

If it came down to love or money, I’d choose to love each time.

If it came down to love or success…well, you get my point.

In preparation for the holidays, many of us spend time preparing our hearts.108853396_640

When I think of Christmas, it doesn’t boil down to presents under the tree or the best sale I can get on that gift for my uncle. It’s about love.

It’s about choosing to allow Jesus to work at unwrapping your heart to accept the love of God.

Could this be why Christmas, more so than any other holiday or time of year, glimmers with a glimpse of heaven? Is it because this is the time of year we’re fulfilling our purpose, preparing for Christ and his coming again?

My tree has been up for weeks.

My gifts have all been bought and are wrapped, sitting in piles under that same tree.

Cards are starting to decorate my kitchen cabinets; the more I receive, the more I put up.

Why is it easier to make Christmas cookies than to make our hearts ready for Christ? And why does that readying only happen once a year when it should be a lifelong thing?

Is getting ready for Christmas as simple and difficult as simply sitting still before the cradle of Christ and letting his love wash over you?

Love came down 2000 years ago.

He came to his own people, and his own people did not recognize him. John 1.11

Love came down – we didn’t recognize him.

Love came down – and we didn’t want what he offered.

Love has come — will you receive his love for what it is? A gift? A self-less act of mercy and grace….a beautiful gift?

I pray that you’ll find that love and joy this season as you seek Jesus this holiday season and beyond.

God shows how much he loved us be sending his one and only Son into the world so that we might have eternal life through him. 1 John 4.9

Leave a Reply

