26. colleagues

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others. Philippians 2.3-4

I am thankful for my colleagues and the manager I’ve been blessed with. After experiencing what I did in the job I had prior to my move to Minneapolis, working here has been the icing on the cake. I have an amazing manager who’s the calm in storm…especially when conflict arises among her team.

Believe me, it does. We all come from different walks of life. We’ve all experienced different situations. We all see things differently, based upon the lens of our own individual situations. And yet, it’s those differences that come together and form the team that we have.

There are five of us, albeit a small team, but what we do on a given day does not leave us wanting more. We give. We help. We assist. And when the clock says it’s time to go, we leave knowing we made a difference, somewhere.

I included the verse above because that is what God has called me to do in my current position. In the corporate world where religion isn’t brought up in conversation because it’s such a hot topic and we wouldn’t want to step on another’s toes, I still need to heed to his voice and commands. It’s not a request that I be humble; it’s a characteristic of being his child; his follower. Being able to follow him in that way is a huge blessing, whether I see in a heated moment or not.

I can’t solely think about me when I’m at work. I have to think about the caller, my coworker, or my manager first and I’m still learning. God sees them as valuable. I should too.

What about you? What are you thankful for today? Be sure to take a moment to tell people that you are thankful for them. Life is way too short not to.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

