10. the seasons – especially autumn

seaonsI love where I live: Minnesota.

Mostly because Minnesota sports four distinct seasons. Granted, two of the four do not last nearly long enough (spring and fall), but the fact that I get to experience snowy winters, wet springs, hot summers and beautiful autumns…well, what more can I say?

Of the four, fall is by far my favorite. And I wrote the following up a year ago (found here):

“Autumn.

One of the many words that makes me turn to mush from the inside out and my soul cry with delight. It’s also my favorite time of the year, stretching from late August through the end of the year (I know this includes the tail end of summer and the start of winter, but I can’t and shouldn’t exclude Christmas).

I adore, like, enjoy, love everything about it: comfy sweaters, bonfires, warm beverages, boots, scarves, apples, pumpkins, harvest, fall decor, the temps, football, the sound of leaves crunching beneath my feet as I walk and, especially, the bold, warm colors.

All of those things combined (minus football…although that is questionable) bring to mind feelings of warmth, energy, vibrancy and a depth of richness little can compare to. Most  of all, it reminds me of my relationship with God: warm, deep, rich, vibrant and full of energy…and very, very colorful.

People are drawn to those things. I wonder how appealing I am as a Christian? Do other people gravitate to me because I am a warm, vibrant, and inviting person?

Red When I think about the color of the fall leaves, red is my favorite. There’s just something about the trees that are full of red leaves glistening in the sun. It’s just extraordinary. They stick out and you notice them.

Red brings up the thought of passion. No matter where we are in our Christian walk, I think we all could do with a little more passion for Christ. We should stick out in a good way. We should reflect all that brilliance of Christ.

In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.  Matthew 5:16

Orange The color orange is so beautiful in the fall. We see it in not just the fall leaves, but in those pumpkins as well. Orange reflects warmth and symbolizes thoughtfulness and sincerity. As Christians that’s something we should portray. We should be that warm inviting person that cares about others.

Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.    Ephesians 4:32

Yellow The yellow color of fall makes me happy. Yellow conjures up joy and cheerfulness. I don’t really think that if we aren’t cheerful as Christians, other people will want what we have.

If we have Christ, we should have joy in our hearts and that joy should reflect out through us. It’s listed right there in Galatians along with the other fruit of the spirit that we should be bearing. 

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.  Galatians 5:22-23

Purple Purple is the color of royalty. As Christians, we are royalty in Christ. Our behavior should reflect that royalty. We should be striking as Christians. 

The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children. Now if we are children, then we are heirs—heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory. Romans 8:16-17

Brown If we didn’t have all that brown in the midst of the bright fall colors, I doubt if they’d be so brilliant. Brown represents stability and it anchors all those other beautiful colors of fall. In Christ, we have our anchor. Others can see if we are living for Christ and depending on Him in our lives. It comes out in our actions and behavior.

So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live your lives in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.    Colossians 2:6-7

Showing Christ through our behavior is so important in our witness to others . Our “colors” do matter. What we portray matters. How we act and behave is what people see when they look at us. I hope I grow to have a beautiful, warm, and inviting life in and relationship with Christ. I don’t want His Gospel to be hidden from the world because of me. I want to portray vibrancy and warmth so that people will want to get to know Jesus through me.

What are you projecting?”

a blend of seasons autumn1

Leave a Reply

