Day 7: Children

I’ll be writing more on this later, but I wanted to get out that I am grateful for kids.

Yes, I’m an aunt, but I’m not thankful for that reason alone. We have three very active children (toddlers, rather) within our church family at The Vine. This past weekend’s message touched on the topic of having faith like a child and I couldn’t get over watching Emsley and Royce go at it in the lobby before the service.

Children have an over abundance of joy. Even when they fall down, they get right back up and keep going, just as joyfully as they were before.

Children trust easily and believe/have faith in what they’re told. This explains why it was so easy for me to accept the Gospel as truth at the tender age of four.

Children also imitate those around them in an effort to discover who they are. In essence, they experiment to discover what they like and don’t like. I remember that time in my life. Playing house like my mom did; following the tall 8th-grade girls around at school when I was in Kindergarten. Yep. I did just that.

There are so many other traits children have that we lose when life happens. Responsibilities get in the way and temptations distract us. We get jaded and cynical.

Have you ever been able to keep yourself from smiling when a child laughs? I haven’t . I pray that we continue to choose joy and truth even when it doesn’t make sense. I am thankful for the children in my life. Are you?

Leave a Reply

