Day 4: Family Tree

“Grandchildren are the crown of old men…” Proverbs 17:6

God’s Word is full of genealogies; from Genesis all the way to the last one listed in the first chapter of Matthew: The Genealogy of Jesus Christ. It would seem that the Bible stresses importance on tracing ones family tree, but the sole purpose, I believe, of those family ties is to show that God can use ordinary people in extraordinary ways.

Have you ever tried to trace your family tree beyond your grandparents? I haven’t…probably due to the fact that my grandmother on Dad’s side has a book thicker than those written by Tolkien with pages and pages of photos dating back to the late 1700s. Crazy? Maybe.

I was blessed to know one of my great grandparents – Clarence (my youngest brother was also named after the man), but I’ve never seen him in the light of a great-grandparent. He was more like a grandfather as Mom’s father was rarely in the picture. He was there for each of my siblings’ births and we have albums full of photos displaying him with each of us kids. I remember visiting him at the nursing home after he was admitted well into his 90s and how he had a sound mind up until the end. Grandpa…I’ll never forget the example he set.

Growing up, I spent a lot of time over at Grandpa and Grandma’s. After all, my folks’ farmstead is only five miles away. We’d spend many of the holidays throughout the year there as well as the occasional Sunday night, creating memories along the way.

Now, I’ve been blessed with an opportunity to live less than fifteen minutes from my mom’s mom and what a blessing that has been. We’ve been able to catch up and spend time with one another. I’ve even found myself cherishing her wisdom and being thoroughly entertained by her wit and charm.

What a blessing it is to have grandparents!

Leave a Reply

