I Have This Treasure!

Recently, I went through (or rather was forced through) a change in perspective in the midst of a study on insecurity a girlfriend and I are currently weeding our way through. I say “weeding” because of all the insecurities that have imbedded themselves in my own life; even those I wasn’t even aware of before this whole process began.

We had made it through the hardest stuff and were finally getting to the application part when a verse from Scripture spoke out to me:

For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ. But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us. We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body. For we who are alive are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that His life may be revealed in our mortal body. So then, death is at work in us, but life is at work in you.

Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.

2 Corinthians 4:6-12; 16-18

One woman, whose life has touched many through Beth Moore’s book, spoke of how insecure she felt while attending (or planning to attend) a gala held by some very important people in the publication business…always worrying about how she needed to look, fussing over the dress, etc., when she realized how feeble it seemed in comparison to the treasure she had within.

That hit me right between the eyes.

I had been spending quite a bit of my alone time pondering what I needed to do to overcome my own wretchedness (thinking I would never be enough; that I don’t matter; etc.) and I suddenly realized that I don’t need to focus so much on fixing me before I start living. That’s not my job. My job is to show people the treasure I have within while allowing God to do the fixing…ah, the beauty of free will.

Let God’s truth refocus your eyes today on the treasure that dwells within you. This treasure can fill the emptiest of vessels; after all, a jar is designed to hold something! That treasure is God himself, living within us, bringing his abundant life. In our own humanity we have no sense of wealth or worth, no value in this jar of clay. We are simply an empty jar. But when this humanity is filled with deity, we receive what we were created to hold, the very life of God. He is our treasure!

When we look only at the frail clay pot, despair is the natural result, but when we look at the glorious treasure we hold, we are inwardly renewed day by day. And those frailties and cracks in our clay pot? They are not to be despised, for they now serve a purpose! They allow the life of God, our cherished treasure, to seep out for all those around us to see.

I know without a shadow of a doubt that I am a fragile clay jar. I’m reminded every day of my frailness when I say something unkind, when I think a hurtful thought, when my heart wanders from God, when I’m jealous of someone else’s success, when I’m incredibly insecure.

And then I wonder, why would God choose to put His greatest treasure in me??

Do you see what it says in 2 Corinthians, “We have this light shining in our hearts but we ourselves are like fragile clay jars containing this great treasure!” Why does God use fragile earthen jars to carry His greatest treasure? Could it be that that is when His light shines the brightest?

God sent His Son into this world to shine light into the darkness, to expose people’s sin and to point them to the only answer, Jesus Christ. And now God has left that light shining in our hearts. It seems inconceivable that God would choose to use us to carry His treasure.

I’m reminded of my frailty. I know of God’s desire for Him to use me in spite of my brokenness. God uses broken and messed up people like you and me, isn’t that amazing?! When we are cracked clay vessels there is no doubt that it is God’s light within us and not our own!

God’s light shines the brightest in fragile clay jars like us! Ever think that what you do and say could be so significant to your Creator?  I am a cracked jar of clay, filled with the Treasure of God.  So are you. May we pour out the Treasure and bless the world with His fragrance and love.

 

Leave a Reply

