Week 56 – Part IV: Buried He Carried My Sins Far Away

Then Joseph . . . laid [the body] in a tomb . . . (v. 46)

There is something special about the old hymns. Many of them   carry a powerful message, a strong anointing, and a doorway into the praises of heaven—helping to carry our spirits to new heights of adoration and a deeper sense of the heart of God.

Today, I’d like to focus on the next line in the hymn One Day (Glorious Day by Casting Crowns). 

One day they led Him, up Calvary’s mountain
One day they nailed Him, to die on a tree
Suffering anguish, despised and rejected
Bearing our sins, my Redeemer is He

Living He loved me, dying He saved me
Buried He carried my sins far away
Rising He justified, freely forever
One day He’s coming…

Oh, Glorious Day!

Buried He carried my sins far away…

The Apostles’ Creed tells us that Jesus was crucified, died, and was buried. I understand the crucified and died part, but why on earth do I need to confess that Jesus was buried? The answer given by the Heidelberg Catechism is as simple as it is brief: “to make it clear that He was really dead.” Jesus Christ really died on Good Friday so that He, and in turn we, could be really raised.

They lowered His dead body from that rugged cross and carried it to a borrowed tomb.  Our Savior knew this day would come.  He also knew that by His death, our sins’ debt would be paid – in full.  Nothing ever again would have to be done to purchase my/our forever.  Our Believer’s Baptism symbolizes the death of that old way of life.  Our new lives should be full of grace and good works because that sin nature has been removed.  Yes, we are going to fall into sin from time to time but He carried those sins far away.  I know, for me, it hurts when I think of how my new sins must hurt my Lord.

What does His burial mean to you?

Leave a Reply

