Week 56 – Part III: Everything to Me

He has delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.

Colossians 1:13-14

Last night, we discussed what the resurrection meant to each of us. After pondering my own response for quite some time, I came to the realization that I didn’t have a solid answer and ended up thinking about it the rest of the night and woke up, praying about it this morning. While I agreed with everything the rest of our leadership said, I wanted to formulate what it meant for me personally but couldn’t, at the time.

What does the resurrection mean to me?

It’s the basis for every single thing I believe. It’s the foundation on which I live my life. It’s the common ground between God and me when it comes to my relationship with Him. Without it, there is nothing.

In thinking about that, I wondered what my life would look like without it.

Empty.

Barren.

Destitute.

Hollow.

Meaningless.

Lifeless.

With it – I have life to the full (just as Jesus said in John 10); a life that overflows in abundance; something rich. It’s an immense blessing to have been redeemed because of the resurrection; one that I may never fully understand until He comes again.

Have you experienced that? If not, Jesus invites you to draw near to Him; to believe in Him.

I’d like to leave you all with a song by Avalon: Everything to Me, one they did several years ago – I recall singing it at my younger brother’s confirmation. The lyrics themselves are, in a way, part of my own testimony. Enjoy!

He’s everything to me
He’s more than a story;
More than words on a page of history.
He’s the air that I breathe,
The water I thirst for,
And the ground beneath my feet
He’s everything…everything to me

Leave a Reply

