Week 56 – Part II: Head Knowledge vs. Application

I’ve come to realize that head knowledge just doesn’t cut it anymore. It never does. Life is about applying God’s Word and other concepts/ideas centered on that truth to your life and actually living it out rather than filling up your head with this knowledge and letting it simply sit there.

I’ve experienced a lot of personal development in the last 12 months; since moving to Minneapolis. Exploration of this new city/life/location opened the floodgates on my creativity – I’ve been writing, sketching and painting more than ever. I’ve experienced massive spiritual growth (more than I thought I would), more so since the rest of the Vine’s leadership team arrived – then again, we all have. I now have another girlfriend/group of girls that I meet with regularly. We’re going through (as I’ve mentioned before) Beth Moore’s So Long Insecurity and boy, is it messing with me. The entire series is bringing certain portions of my past – actions that have affected how I live out my life (or rather how tied down I am because of them) and what I can do to get beyond that…all by the power of God. I’m also going through a new financial course and actually learning how to budget (something I think both parents and schools should be teaching their children, stating at a young age – more on that later). My prayer life has risen from its dormancy and breathes with new life and a vibrancy I’ve never experienced. I’ve been reading more – fiction, non-fiction, self-help, motivational…you name it! I’ve also rediscovered the freedom and power forgiveness has and the restoration that can bring to the table.

But it isn’t enough to simply read about these truths, filling up my head with knowledge, or to even return the book to the shelf the moment I feel convicted (believe me, I have!).

I’m called to work through that conviction; God’s Spirit telling me that this is something I need to do in order to have the close relationship I long for and can have with God. I’m called to live out those truths so that others may/will see Him in my life…not me; Him. What good is having the knowledge and wisdom of God’s Word and it never being seen in our lives?  What good is having the head-knowledge and not the heart knowledge?

It’s a call to change my way of thinking; to be made new in Christ. Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come:The old has gone, the new is here! (2 Corinthians 5:17) I want to be who He calls me to be – a daughter of the Most High.

One cannot become a Christian on just head knowledge. I had to learn to believe with my heart. In the same manner, we have heard of the power of God, now it is time that we learn to live your life with the power of God by applying our head knowledge to heart application. Satan desires to create doubt but God desires that we clearly understand HIS will and that we live in HIS power on a daily basis. The only way we are going to overcome the doubt Satan is going to throw at we will be by drawing closer to God and learning to hear HIS still small voice. By faith we will overcome doubt.

None of this has been easy. Nothing worth gaining ever is. Will you rise to what God calls us to in your own life? Will you follow Him?

Verses for thought:

You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven. Matthew 5:14-16

Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like someone who looks at his face in a mirror. James 1:22-23

Leave a Reply

