Week 56 – Part I: Were You There

One ancient hymn has haunted me since I was a child. I remember standing in the pew next to my parents at Good Friday services and listening to the words as they sang to that eerie tune:

Were you there when they crucified my Lord?
Were you there when they crucified my Lord?
Sometimes it causes me to tremble, tremble, tremble
Were you there when they crucified my Lord?

Were you there when they nailed him to the tree?
Were you there when they nailed him to the tree?
Oh, sometimes it causes me to tremble, tremble, tremble.
Were you there when they nailed him to the tree?

Were you there when they laid him in the tomb?
Were you there when they laid him in the tomb?
Oh, sometimes it causes me to tremble, tremble, tremble.
Were you there when they laid him in the tomb?

Were you there when God raised him from the tomb?
Were you there when God raised him from the tomb?
Oh, sometimes it causes me to tremble, tremble, tremble.
Were you there when God raised him from the tomb?

Yes, it has haunted me – in a good way. I often find myself humming the tune of this song (found here – Selah’s version) at random and I’ve discovered that I now I have deep, deep love for that song.

And yes, I can heartily sing “Were You There?” and I “tremble, tremble, tremble,” when I think of the events in the last week of Jesus’ life on earth. But I quickly rejoice as I experience the power of his resurrection. God raised him from the dead and I eagerly quote the words that Jesus said to Martha, who was in grief about her brother Lazarus: “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me, though he die, he shall live” (John 11:25).

God’s Word helps me to remember that I was there. And I am still there as I walk through this life with the living Jesus in my heart! I proclaim that his promises are true, his love is authentic, his power is available and his peace is overwhelming. Were you there?

Leave a Reply

