Wonderful Counselor

For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace. Isaiah 9:6

The past year has brought many unexpected challenges in my life,  mostly in the form of stress over finances, dealing with past hurts, and uprooting my life and moving to a new city and state. These concerns wake me up early in the morning to pray, and they’ve led me to be increasingly dependent on God.

One morning as I was reading my Bible, God reminded me that I am not alone and I do not face these challenges on my own. I’ve known this for a while, but this morning God moved that truth from my head to my heart with the words from today’s key verse.

Jesus is my Wonderful Counselor. Have you ever paused to dwell on those words? Jesus is my Wonderful Counselor.

Literally this title means “a wonder of a counselor,” speaking of the wisdom of His plan. The word wonderful means astonishing or extraordinary. The writers of the Old Testament used it for acts of God which man cannot understand. The word counselor means advisor or ideal ruler.

This means He is a reliable counselor. Those who come to Him will never be led astray. There are many who make their living on giving advice – some good, some not so good. But the Lord goes to no one for advice. And when anyone comes to Him, He gives the counsel they desperately need.

When I don’t know or fully understand how to get out the financial hole I’ve dug for myself, Jesus is my Wonderful Counselor. When I don’t know how to comfort a friend who is facing challenges I never have, Jesus is my Wonderful Counselor. When I want to offer wise counsel to that same friend whose life seems to be coming apart, Jesus is my Wonderful Counselor. He is the perfect teacher and the ultimate counselor.

This gives us insight into His working. His plans are not our plans, His ways not our ways. He will accomplish things beyond human comprehension, and He will do it in ways we cannot fathom. He will do the greatest work ever accomplished, and He will do it successfully. A violent death would not be man’s way to victory, but it was God’s plan and our Lord carried it out perfectly.

As the Wonderful Counselor, He gives wholesome direction to His people. Those who follow Him will not walk in darkness but in the blazing light of day.

Do you know Jesus as your Wonderful Counselor? Whatever concerns or challenges you face today, you can take them to Jesus.

Have you asked Him into your heart and are you sure that you are a child of God? If not, click on the “Do you know Him” link below, and ask Jesus to be your Wonderful Counselor today. He loves you and can’t wait to be there for you now and always.

And if you already know Jesus as Savior, have you trusted Him to be Wonderful Counselor as well?

Leave a Reply

