Week 55: Dying He Saved Me

Moving on to verse two of Glorious Day (Living He Loved Me) by Casting Crowns (found here), I can’t help but weep for my Savior. As I listened to those words the first time, I was deeply saddened by the fact that my sin, my sin, put Him on that tree; my sin pounded in those nails; my sin…He paid the penalty for my sin. What wretch am I that He would care enough to give Himself in my place?!!?

I couldn’t help the images from Mel Gibson’s The Passion of the Christ flittering through my mind at the following words:

One day they led Him up Calvary’s mountain
One day they nailed Him to die on a tree
Suffering anguish, despised and rejected
Bearing ours sins, my Redeemer is He
Hands that healed nations, stretched out on a tree
And took the nails for me

Living He loved me
Dying He saved me
Buried He carried my sins far away
Rising He justified
Freely forever
One day He’s coming – O glorious day!

The Master gave us a way out! Romans 5 reads: Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ…For while we were still weak, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly…but God shows His love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us…For if while we were enemies we were reconciled to God by the death of His Son, much more, now that we are reconciled, shall we be saved by His life. (vs. 1, 6, 8, 10 ESV)

Faith – we are forgiven because of our faith in Him, we have access to Him because of this faith.  His shed blood and His dying on that cross paid our debt in full – before we were even born!  He loved us that much, knowing we would sin and in forethought, He provided the sin offering – himself.  When asked why I should be allowed to enter Heaven and be in His presence, the right answer will be “because of my faith in Jesus, my Master and His blood shed for me!”

Leave a Reply

