A Real Life Fairy Tale

I awoke early this morning to a green light illuminating my room. I had forgotten to place my phone face down so I wouldn’t be awakened by that light. Getting the better of me, curiosity led me to sliding my screen open to view the email that just come through…about ABC’s new hit drama: Once Upon a Time.

Having been created by the executive producers of Lost and my being a sucker for romance (not to mention fairytales), the idea behind the show intrigued me and I tuned in the very first evening it aired. I’m hooked.

A brief synopsis:

The story is set in the fictional town of Storybrooke, Maine. The town is populated by characters from common fairy tales, who have been exiled to the real world due to a curse cast by the Evil Queen as part of a revenge plot against Snow White and Prince Charming (whose real name is James – who knew right?!!). Because of that curse, most of the inhabitants of Storybrooke have no memory of their true identities and have been stuck timelessly in Storybrooke for years.

This changes when Henry, the adopted son of Storybrooke’s Mayor Regina Mills, seeks out his birth mother, Emma Swan – a bounty hunter living in Boston, – an coerces her to come with him to Storybrooke. Henry, who knows about the curse from a book given him by his teacher, Mary Margaret Blanchard, informs Emma that she is the daughter of Snow White and Prince Charming and that she is destined to break the curse holding everyone in Storybrooke. Skeptical, Emma decides to stay in Storybrooke after seeing how lonely Henry is and how he is emotionally neglected by his adoptive mother. In staying, Emma continue to run afoul of Mayor Mills. The conflict only increases when Emma become town sheriff.

Each episode usually focuses on one main character who is experiencing some sort of conflict in Storybrooke. Flashbacks also show what their character’s story was in the fairy tale world of the Enchanted Forest.

The sets, characters and costumes were captivating, inviting me to reminisce on my childhood. Disney introduced me to the world of Beauty and the Beast, The Little Mermaid, Snow White and Sleeping Beauty. I read stories about Little Red Riding Hood, The Huntsman, Rumpelstiltskin and Pinocchio. My childhood imagination has now become a TV reality (with a few differences thrown into the mix).

I then started thinking how these stories (and the tale of Once Upon a Time) tied into my faith and life as a follower of Christ.

Each tale tells of a protagonist (usually a princess) and how the object of their affection (or could-be affection) woos them. There’s good. There’s evil. There’s an end where good will triumph.

Granted, the Bible doesn’t start with “Once upon a time…”, but it could. In the beginning:

In the beginning God created…Genesis 1

Time’s just about up. Revelation 1:2b MSG

The entire Bible tells of how God continuously woos His people, Israel. His love leads to the ultimate sacrifice (Jesus’ death on the cross) and shows how He continues to woo us today. In the end, Christ will have His bride…and all will live “happily ever after…” but not in that general sense.

Perhaps that’s why I love fairy tales (and romance) so much. The Lover of my soul…My Prince…came. He woos my heart and soul and saturates everything longing with all that He is. Every day. He gave Himself for me and now represents me before the King. One day, He’ll lead us all into our “ever after.”

 

Sources: www.wikipedia.com
More information: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1843230/

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

