Week 52: Facing the Future

It’s here.

Four more days.

It’s finally here.

And…

 I. Can’t. Wait.

We gathered together last night to discuss our hopes, fears, anxieties, and all things considering our first pre-launch service for The Vine this coming Sunday…March 11. Prayers that chaos would be at ease (it will exist) and that we would have an expanse of peace covering us were lifted up; prayers that the hearts of those in St. Louis Park and the surrounding area would be opened and that they would come if God would allow it; prayers that no matter the number that day that His Spirit would still be present…and that it would move…were spoken.

Personally, I’m excited. Two years ago, Pastor Rick asked me if I would join them in planting a church in Minneapolis. This was long before the church had a name; long before any vision had been put in place; long before any specifics had been given. I was at a point in my life where I was ready to move on. I felt that I had nearly outgrown my role at church and I not only physically wanted more, I spiritually wanted more.

When I graduated from college, moved to Sioux Falls and landed a job I wasn’t sure I would like, I had decided that I would give Him three years there. My roots had been planted in Brookings, so not planting many in Sioux Falls was easy. I had just hit my two year mark when Rick placed that question on the table. The decision was easy. I knew that I would be leaving…I was just waiting for God to open a door (or that window) to let in a little fresh air.

And there it was.

The fresh air…streaming down from Minneapolis…and I didn’t even need to fret over where God would place me next when it came to His body of believers. He had given me a church home. He had given me a new purpose. Not only am I “just the keyboard player,” I am so much more. He’s provided a place on the leadership team (which is scary because it comes with more expectations) and with hospitality, encouragement and mercy being the top three gifts He’s given me, I’m sure He’ll put them to good use, but until we’ve been blessed with those who can handle what I’m not gifted with, I’ll be wearing multiple hats.

I’m okay with that.

It will be uncomfortable. It will be nerve-racking. It will be challenging.

I expect to grow immensely as I’m challenged in all aspects of my life the foreseable future.

The God we serve is such a good God. His will is perfect. His timing is perfect. I believe that He will do something magnificent in the Uptown area of Minneapolis and I can’t wait to see what that is…even if it occurs outside the parameters of my lifetime.

The following scriptures have given me so much peace the last two weeks – know that He is good.

Peace I leave with you; peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. John 14:27

I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world. John 16:33

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6-7

The Lord make His face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the Lord lift up His countenance upon you and give you peace. Numbers 6:25-26

And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you are called in one body. And be thankful. Colossians 3:15

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

