The Alpha and the Omega

”I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End.” Revelation 22:13

Jesus said He was the first and the last. We often wonder how this can even be possible. Our finite minds cannot comprehend this infinite statement.

Because of God’s transcendence (the fact that He is both here in this realm and not of this world), He can be the beginning and the end. He was there before Creation and He’ll be there the day the world ends.

And He is so much more than that. He’s also everything in between. He is the continuum – that which holds all things together.

Have you ever experienced that? Think of all the trials you’ve been through. God has been there through each and every single one of them. He may not have calmed the storm around you, but He probably did calm you enough to survive it.

Again…have you ever experienced that?

I have. Through my tumultuous childhood – the years filled with illness, feeling left behind, arguments and the fear of my family falling apart. He was there during college. He was there when I relocated to Minneapolis. He’s here today, walking with me as I step forward into the unknown…planting a new church and not knowing what great works God will do, but oh, how excited I am (and terrified) for it because I know He will see me through. He always has.

Again…have you ever experienced that?

In looking back, I’m reminded of a song (I’m very musically driven in case you haven’t figured that out already) by Francesca Battistelli called Time in Between. It speaks of how, even God was there in the beginning and will be there in the end, He’s here now; in our in between.

You were there when Your Father said
“Let there be light.”
You obeyed when He whispered, “Son,
You have to leave tonight
To spend nine months in a mother’s womb;
Three days in a borrowed tomb.

But it’s the time in between
That brings me to my knees
Knowing You came for me
And all that I can’t be
I’m amazed, so amazed
And I thank You for the time in between

Don’t take much for this crazy world
To rob me of my peace
And the enemy of my souls
Says You’re holding out on me
So I stand here lifting empty hands
For You to fill me up again

But it’s the time in between
That I fall down to my knees
Waiting on what You’ll bring
And the things that I can’t see
I know my song’s incomplete
Still I sing in the time in between

So many ways
Your love has saved the day
And I’m grateful for the all

But it’s the time in between
The middle of two thieves
That says everything
It’s the reason I believe
I’m amazed, so amazed
And I thank You for the time in between
Oh Lord, I thank You for the time in between

He is the Alpha and the Omega. He is the First and the Last. He is the Beginning and the End.

He’s everything in between.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

