Week 51, Part II: How He Loves

This is love: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins. 1 John 4:10

I can remember singing and playing the melody to the song “Jesus Loves Me” when I was a child. It was actually one of the first songs I taught myself to play…I barely remember it; my hands smaller than the expanse of two keys on the piano and my delightful giggle when I figured out the next note. Oh, how I loved that song.

Jesus loves me this I know
For the Bible tells me so
Little ones to Him belong
They are weak, but He is strong.

Let me ask you this: Do you truly, completely, whole-heartedly believe that?

This morning, my crew from The Vine Community was given another opportunity to lead worship at MN Teen Challenge. Imagine a room full of men and women singing praises to God at eight in the morning. Oh, what a beautiful and heart-rendering sound!

God has a tendency to surprise us…we were headed in one direction with the message topic, which had probably been chosen weeks, if not months ago, when He chose to send us down another path. The topic changed and another song was added to the mix; a new version/take on God’s love…something fresh…something beautiful: How He Loves.

The song started out with a blast of the bridge….singing how much God loves us at the top of our lungs…and it seemed to go on. I wanted to stay in that room forever; to stay at His feet forever.

One lyric in that song reminds me of Exodus 24:14 (NLT): …for the Lord…is a God who is jealous about His relationship with you.

The first time I read that verse, I cried. I’m not talking about just one short whimper. I’m talking flat out “I’m a mess!” crying. He is jealous for me…love’s like a hurricane, I am a tree bending beneath the weight of His wind and mercy.

My challenge to you today: Be overwhelmed with His love for you.

He loves you more than you can fathom.

He loves me more than I can imagine.

He loves us more than we deserve.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

