Bread of Life

“…I am the Bread of Life. Whoever comes to me will never be hungry again. Whoever believes in Me will never be thirsty.” John 6:35

You are what you eat.

It’s a common statement.

And it holds true for both what you feed yourself physically and spiritually.

I’ve been brushing myself up on the nutritious needs I have physically the last couple of years…and especially lately. I’m focusing more on what goes into my body to get the results I want. I wouldn’t call it a diet…it’s actually the opposite: an anti-diet. I’m not depriving myself of any one food group; dieting does just that. I’m simply choosing to eat healthier foods like organic or locally grown fruits and veggies and proteins and omega 3s like fish and eggs; choosing to go for the turkey burger rather than a steak…or in some cases, choosing to go veggie over anything else. Those choices lead to a lifestyle I can live with…not a diet that deprives me of life…and the benefits are finally starting to pay off (this paired with a regular workout).

You are what you eat.

Just as we have a physical hunger, we have a deep soul hunger. It cannot be filled by what we take in physically…or even attempt to mentally or emotionally. Things cannot fill that void. This hunger was placed in us by our Creator when He knit us together in our mother’s womb. It was designed to only be filled by Him.

What are you taking in spiritually?

Jesus Christ is the Bread of Life. Without Him, no one will ever experience true fulfillment. To all who believe and follow Him, He promises that they will never hunger or thirst again. Just as God provided bread for Israel in the desert, He also provided Christ for His children in their sinfulness; to sustain them in this life until they come home. Without Him, there is no hope for those who are starving.

This doesn’t happen overnight. It takes effort on your part (all relationships do). Your spiritual “diet” must consist of reading His Word daily and spending time with Him in conversation (prayer). Don’t just learn all you can about Him. Actually take the time to know Him. I write/journal or sit at behind my Yamaha and let the words and/or music flow…that’s when I feel closest to the Lover of my soul; the One who truly sustains me.

Because Jesus is the Bread of Life, your soul is nourished, your mind is renewed, and your heart is revived. Because He is the Bread of Life, your ears are captivated by the Voice of Truth, your eyes are focused on the redemptive activity of God, and your mouth is filled with the words of Life. Because He is the Bread of Life, your hands are transformed into the compassionate hands of Jesus. Because He is the Bread of Life, your feet are fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace and grounded in the firm foundation of God’s infallible, inerrant, and unchanging Word.

Pursue Him and you will be filled.

O taste and see that the Lord is good. How blessed is the man who takes refuge in Him. Psalm 34:8

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

