The Rock

There are multiple verses referring to God/Jesus as our Rock:

And all of them drank the same spiritual water. For they drank from the spiritual rock that traveled with them, and that rock was Christ. 1 Corinthians 10:4

Does that verse encourage you to recall a time when water sprang from the rock for Israel? Read through Exodus 17:1-7 for the story.  

No one is holy like the Lord, for there is none beside You, nor is there any rock like our God. 1 Samuel 2:2

Does the Lord ever bring to your attention a word or an idea, and you keep being reminded of it? What catches your attention in that verse?  For me, it was “nor is there any rock like our God”!

Several years ago, I took a trip out to Colorado with my grandmother and captured the image you see here. Looking at it then (and looking at it now), I can’t help but feel God’s presence here…with me. Those words are in a worship song that I grew up singing at church but I did not realize that the words were directly from God’s Word until my early twenties. David said “the Lord is my rock” (2 Samuel 22:2) and “who is a rock, except our God” (2 Samuel 22:32). There is no Rock except God. 

Can you remember times in your life when it was only the solid rock, Jesus, who kept your feet firm?  Perhaps when your child died; your marriage failed; you suffered from depression; you or a loved one faced imprisonment; you face financial hardship; your “church” let you down; even the everyday busyness of life & life!

Even when all around us seems to be falling apart, God is the foundation, the Rock that keeps us. At times in my life when I have had struggles, it has only been having Jesus as my solid foundation that has kept me from despair.  In our times today, it may be difficult to wonder what is happening.  But HE IS THE ROCK!   2 Samuel 22:47 “The Lord lives! Blessed be my Rock! Let God be exalted. The Rock of my salvation!”  

Can you think of a time in your life recently when you had struggles?  Did you find Jesus, the Rock, to be helpful to you at that time?  Have you ever depended upon something else or someone else to be your rock?  Did that fail you?

Know that He will never fail you and rely on Him.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

