A Resolution to Live Today with Tomorrow in Mind

Note to reader: The following is the result of further study, research and reflection after reading a portion of The Resolution for Women by Priscilla Shirer, a book written upon the influence of the movie Courageous, which hit theaters nation-wide in September/October of 2011.

A good [woman] leaves an inheritance. Proverbs 13:22

In the final section of The Resolution for Women, Shirer shares a story about her aunt, a woman in her mid-fifties has lived life to its fullest in spite of the fact that she’s never married and has never had children of her own. As I read her testimony, I could not help but be inspired. My life, up until this moment at least, has wandered down that same path. I too, do not have a husband, nor do I have children…yet. I’m still young. I still have time. Granted, I’m not guaranteed tomorrow and the work God has called me to complete could be accomplished today, but still…I have time. So do you.

We are all called to leave a legacy behind. We are called to set this in stone; to journal it; to keep it however you keep it.

Personally, I journal. It’s great, being able to look back over the years and see God’s hand weaving through the pattern of my life. I’ve even been able to come to an understanding of certain circumstances and trials I had to face to get to where I am today. It’s amazing how He works.

Shirer points to the spiritual legacy her amazing aunt is leaving behind and she points to the spiritual offspring that us singles (and non-singles) tend to forget about. Each of our lives impact other lives. God created us to be relational creatures and it naturally happens. We are surrounded by people waiting to be filled with our wisdom; to learn from our own lives. “As women in whom God’s Spirit lives and has borne fruit, we have each been called to leave a godly legacy, to pass the baton of His grace and truth to others who will then take it to lengths and destinations we will never go ourselves…This is a heavenly mandate…Your lifespan is simply not long or large enough to contain the heights and depths of [God’s] activity, then to swallow it whole without offering anyone else a bite.” (p. 257)

Think about that for a moment.

In looking over my own life, so many women have left their legacy’s imprint in my own life (not just my mother). I’m speaking of Connie, Bethany, Brandie, and many other young women from Brookings, SD. I’m speaking of my very first piano teacher, Bertha, and so many other wonderful people who have touched my life. This thanks goes to the men too…that you Dad!

Are you making today’s decisions with their impact on tomorrow in mind? When you’re arranging your priorities and forming your habits, do you think about your children, your grandchildren, people you inspire, about the kind of character they’ll remember about you and inherit from you? When you spend your money, or sport your fashion sense, or speak you piece, or spare you time, does it ever occur to you that you’re not just making a choice for yourself, in the moment?  That you’re making a choice which impacts people who are following behind you? That you’re perhaps playing a role in the attitudes and observations of a young woman you hardly know, maybe even a total stranger who one day hears someone telling what you were like?

People tend to spend more time planning on their physical inheritance rather than their spiritual one. I’m asking you to choose to live today as though someone’s tomorrow depended on it. Putting it in that light changes things, doesn’t it?

Let me put it this way. Are you going to choose life? Or choose death?

We all have a legacy to leave (whether we have children or not). Find your way to leave it. The questions I posed at the start of this entry…they are the kind of questions you need t o keep in mind when thinking about what you will do today; how you will respond in this moment; what type of resolutions you will make and live by. These decisions matter right now, and they keep on mattering.

They are your legacy.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

