Week 47: Early Spring Cleaning

I’m one of those weird people that actually enjoys cleaning….spring cleaning to be exact. There’s just something refreshing, a sense of starting over, that comes with clearing out the old. Twice a year (in the spring and in the fall), I get to go through all of my things…uploading all of my receipts and important documents from the past year onto my external harddrive (I’m going paperless…eases on the clutter…trust me on this one), shredding that imformation when I’m finished, going through my closet and getting rid of everything I haven’t worn in over six months, tossing worn out socks and more.

I started a bit early and was going through some old files on my comptuer when I came across last year’s goal list. I’m proud to say that quite a bit of that got crossed off as the year progressed. Take a look:

To Do List for 2011

  • Write up motivational quotes to post in the bathroom, the back of my bedroom door, kitchen cupboards, fridge and the door to my apt.
  • Strive to live each day to its fullest.
  • Lose 50 lbs by summer/mid-summer.
  • Get a great new job in Minneapolis.
  • Get a great apartment in the cities.
  • Get a dog – Border collie, preferably. Mid-size dog.
  • Maybe work at a coffee shop if the new job allows.
  • Write more. Finish a novel (or two). Work on my blog. Write up some new lyrics.
  • Date?
  • Take care of myself.
  • Eat healthier.
  • Not to come home and just sit at night – do something active. Go back to the gym, sit on my balance ball, or work out at my apartment. Maybe even go to the mall to walk and walk across the street to do it!
  • Print of a moving to do list.
  • Get a balance ball for the office. Out with the office chair!
  • Walk during my 30 minute and 15 minute breaks and take them in full when I can!
  • Cut back on chocolate and sweets.
  • Read more.
  • Get 8 hours of sleep every night.
  • Save $$$!

I’ve never considered myself a long-distance goal planner. Afterall, we’re not guaranteed tomorrow. Why plan for something 10 years from now when all I have is today? Sure, I’ve got long-term dreams like get married, have a kid, buy a house…but I won’t be doing any of those things tomorrow or today, so I usually don’t spend what time I have focusing on those things. Yet, some people do. It’s what they live for.

God’s Word says to not worry about tomorrow or focus on the past. Tomorrow hasn’t even happened yet and the past is just that…that past. You can’t change it. But you can start now to create a new ending.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

