A Resolution to Make My Home a Welcoming Place to Be

Note to reader: The following is the result of further study, research and reflection after reading a portion of The Resolution for Women by Priscilla Shirer, a book written upon the influence of the movie Courageous, which hit theaters nation-wide in September/October of 2011.

 

I resolve to live with grace, to use the word “OK,” to not lead my life as if I were directing a Broadway production, and to set aside time to rest in an effort to make my home a welcoming place to be. I don’t want to live my life, turning people away at every opportunity; the hospitable woman within me will not let that happen.

Priscilla Shirer briefly touches each of these statements in her next section about living with grace.

I resolve to live with grace…

We must live with grace. We must see our homes as holy ground (or everything we touch, as it all is, first and foremost, God’s) and ourselves as the holy attendants, bestowed with the responsibility and privilege of creating an atmosphere in which the essence of God’s grace, freely extended to you, can be felt and sensed through the grace you freely extend to others. Our homes are the place where we cultivate peace to be enjoyed by those who live there and by all who enter through the doors.

Women hold the primary controls to the mood, spirit, and equality of life within each of their homes. It’s about recognizing our power to change the spiritual climate of our home based on the Holy Spirit-enabled resolve to be a woman who exudes the simple yet wonderfully poignant attribute…grace.

We must remember (and strive towards) what happened when we realized the detriment of our sinful disgrace and what God did for us. When we chose to follow Him, His grace becomes ours. When we fully realized how many of our own blunders He lovingly forgives and forgets every day, we suddenly find the motivation for extending that same undeserved favor to those around us. His patience, His acceptance, His understanding, His kindness. By His grace, these become ours – not just to receive but to release.

See every downfall as an opportunity to extend forgiveness and grace; to bestow compassion on another human being.

I resolve to use give a gentle answer…

I also rediscovered during my journey through this section that it’s okay to just say OK. I don’t always have to be right and burn myself into the ground to prove myself right (even when I’m wrong).  Proverbs 15:1 reads A gentle answer turns away anger, but a harsh word stirs up wrath. Try it. It may save a relationship.

I resolve to not be the director of my own personal Broadway production…

Doing so would leave way too many big shoes unfilled. When we do this, the “actors” in our productions do not know what’s expected of them and when they fail, we give them boot. That shouldn’t be the way we lead our lives…tossing relationships to the side because so-and-so didn’t say what I wanted them to at that precise moment.

I was a drama queen once…during my teens…but those years have long since gone. Being a writer doesn’t help much either. I can direct the drama  that fills the pages of my latest novel, but I can’t direct that which fills my day-to-day life. A woman of grace recognizes and admits that, yes, she has a predetermined plot line for her life and surrounds, a compilation of past experiences and make-believe notions. We’ve all done it. There are days when I’m still guilty of it.

But the woman of grace looks at her reality first and then shapes her expectations accordingly. She seeks to discern the true needs of her loved ones and then adapts her own view of things so that she can do what is best for them, nurturing an atmosphere in which they can genuinely flourish.

Grace releases, frees, relaxes, and unbridles. It allows room, loosens nerves, gives permission, and expresses acceptance.

After all, God’s the director. Not me.

I resolve to set aside some “Sabbath” time…

I resolve to rest. God did. He even commands us to do the same. Why? Because we need it. We need the rest. We need the opportunity to regain our prospective on life. If we kept going, our minds become clouded by the hum of a busy life and our decisions are made rashly. We end creating more chaos for ourselves.

We need to purposefully carve out time to stop.

Even if that day doesn’t land on a Sunday.

Or a Saturday.

We need time to simply enjoy God. To celebrate a time of rest, rejuvenation and spiritual focus that would perpetuate their experience of freedom, not just in theory, but practically.

Priscilla argues that it’s not good to just set aside one day of the week, but rather a segment of time each day that we give to God. I would tend to agree. This, for me, occurs during the earliest hours of my morning, on my walk to work, a reprieve from work in the afternoon, yoga in the evenings and then again, right before I turn in for the day. Doing so actually frees me from the bondage of my day-to-day life.

How about you? Will you resolve to be a person of grace today?

I will.

Again, I say…I resolve to live with grace, to use the word “OK,” to not lead my life as if I were directing a Broadway production, and to set aside time to rest in an effort to make my home a welcoming place to be.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

