Questioning My Perception of a Pure Heart

As I was reading through Proverbs 20 this morning during my time with the Lord, I was reading Solomon’s wise sayings about how we should not drink too much wine, rebel against authorities, be lazy, how we should walk in integrity, etc.  Honestly, I was thinking to myself, “I’m not lazy.  I’m doing pretty well in that area since I’m a hard worker and go to the gym pretty much all the time.  I am very submissive to authority and don’t talk badly about those over me behind their backs…”

But then I read the following proverb and was convicted:

“Who can say, ‘I have made my heart pure; I am clean from my sin?’”  (Proverbs 20:9)

As soon as I read this verse, the Lord humbled me by bringing up a few recent sins to mind.  So instead of just reading verses this morning and patting myself on the back because of how good I am, I realized how I’m not good enough.  None of us is good enough to deserve God’s grace.  I’m realizing more and more each day that authentic Christianity isn’t about being a good person.  To me, it’s about realizing my need for Christ, being thankful for what he did for me by dying for my sins, and having a deep relationship with him by spending time with him and pursuing him.

How are you doing today?  When you read Proverbs 20:9 above, what sin does the Lord bring to your mind?  Spend time confessing those sins to the Lord, and be thankful for his grace when we weren’t good enough to deserve it.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

