God Has a Plan…Do You?

Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails. Proverbs 19:21

How many times have you made plans in your head, gotten your heart set on those plans, saw those plans fall to pieces, and then looked back on it later and realized they weren’t the Lord’s plans and were glad that they didn’t come to fruition? This has happened so many times in my life…jobs I didn’t get, a college I didn’t get into, awards or recognition I didn’t receive, the boy I never dated in my teens, being a millionaire (I’m still young) or a famous singer/song-writer/performer. You get the idea…

We all tend to plan…big plans, little plans…and some have been painstakingly thought out to the minutest detail; leaving nothing overlooked. We continue to make preparations and assume our plans will be carried through. Then, all of the sudden, a monkey wrench is thrown into the middle of our game plan and changes everything.

I still plan, but I’m learning to plan in partnership with God. I used to maintain a never-ending search for my purpose on this terrestrial planet, but then I realized that life doesn’t have to be that hard. God already knows the plans He has for me (Jeremiah 29:11). All I need to do is submit and surrender to God’s will, pray through my planning and know that my plans will parallel His for my life. Granted, it’s not easy. Nothing in life is.

I’m stubborn (to a fault) and sometimes believe that I have all the right answers; or right plans. Honestly, when I get that way, those plans never pan out. Why? Simple. That plan wasn’t part of my purpose. If I had continued to pursue it, I would be the consequences…each time.

There is such serenity when we surrender our lives to God’s plan. Opportunities appear, people will arrives to assist you, and the dormant spiritual gifts you have will awaken. It is when we fight His purpose that we spend years frustrated and searching aimlessly. If you find yourself in the midst of a situation where your plan isn’t working, spend some time with God praying for guidance and revelation. If your plan is in accordance with God’s will, He will reveal that to you and give you what you need to persevere. If it isn’t, let it go and move on to God’s plan that always succeeds.

Learn to pray as the Lord taught us to pray in Matthew 6:10: “Thy kingdom come, thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven.“  Give God your circumstances, and trust that his plans are so much better than ours.  When we have this attitude, we see trials in our lives as opportunties to grow and know Christ better rather than as failures.  We begin to trust God more.

Remember. God’s endgame; God’s big plan and purpose, is not merely to make you happy. It is to make you holy. His desire is that you become more like His Son, Jesus.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

