Week 44: Cheers to My Secure Future

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. Jeremiah 29:11-13

I’ve been reminded of that statement time and again throughout this past year. And, for good reason.  

March 2011, I embarked on a new journey; a new adventure to parts unknown (mostly, at least). I came here, to Minneapolis, resting on those verses. I wasn’t sure what God had in store for me here (other than playing keys for a new church…only He knew when that would start).

Prior to January 1, 2012, He’s filled my days with excitement, stretched me beyond what I thought possible, and loved me through it all. I’ve learned to start accepting myself as I am…imperfections and all. I’ve learned to accept the past for what it is and forgive past hurts; thus being able to let them all go.

Now, I’m looking forward into 2012. I can’t see what lies ahead, but I do know that I’m in for a wild ride this year and I can feel the growth beginning. Only God knows the plans He has for me…plans to prosper (become financially fit, forward me in my career…whether that’s with my current employer or not…and more). He will not harm me…even though the process may hurt.

Knowing that when I seek Him, I will find Him brings me so much comfort. I long to have a heart like His.

Because I know that, I have a hope and I have a future. Cheers to security in the midst of my insecurities.

Leave a Reply

