Day 10: Silver Bells and Christmas

Living life in downtown Minneapolis has brought new meaning to the lyrics of the song Silver Bells, a song inspired by a tiny bell on the work desk of Jay Livingston and Ray Evans.

City sidewalks
Busy sidewalks
Dressed in holiday style
In the air
There’s a feeling of Christmas
Children laughing
People passing
Meeting smile after smile
And on every street corner you hear

Silver bells – silver bells
It’s Christmas time in the city
Ring-a-ling, hear them ring
Soon it will be Christmas Day

The verse still brings a smile to my face.

Each day, during my thirty minute break, I go for a walk…brisk this time of year, but I still enjoy it none-the-less. Just before Thanksgiving, decorative ornaments, both big and small appeared in the planters just outside the Foshay tower.

Snowflakes danced and aspen and birch filled planters lined Nicollet Mall before the start of the Holidazzle Parade on Thanksgiving weekend. For those of you that haven’t seen this extravaganza, the parade takes place this coming Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday evening at 6:30 PM along Nicollet Mall in downtown Minneapolis through the 18th (next Sunday).

I was greeted by a nice surprise the on November 19th as I made my way through the skyway to the theater located at Block e. The trees were up in the IDS Crystal Court and City Center and Gavidea Commons was decked to the max. B-E-A-U-Ti-ful!

  

Macy’s even had their window displays up the Monday before Thanksgiving.

The wreath outside the office at work and the massive amount of decorations in the skyway welcomed me when I returned to the city from Thanksgiving. After spending a nice, relaxing (for the most part) with family, trimming the tree and decorating the house outside there, it was quite the surprise.

I will also point out that passersby have seemed more “friendly” the last couple of weeks. I’ve seen more smiles and heard children’s laughter in the skyways and on the streets in the last three weeks than I have since I moved here in March.

And the bells on every street corner? The credit goes to the Salvation Army.

Christmas is a season full of given. If I could give to each one I pass, I totally would. Have you given anything this year?

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

