Week 37: My Cup Runneth Over

The optimist says the cup is half full. The pessimist says the cup is half empty. The child of God says my cup runneth over. – Anonymous 

Being an optimist by nature, I tend to see the glass as half full. There is so much potential there! But, in having stumbled across the quote listed above, I have come to realize that, the majority of the time, the cup is actually overflowing.

The psalmist’s words in Psalm 23 come to mind when I think about how God has provided for me this past year. I pondered this as I made the 3.5 hour trek home from work Wednesday afternoon and my thoughts took me back to my freshman year of college and beyond.

God has given me more than I could ask for. I was raised in a loving home. My parents are still together after 28 years in a world torn by tragedy, sin and divorce. I have younger siblings. My brother has a wife; I’ve gained a new sister. I was taught what it means to be hospitable; to open my home to those in need. I had a roof over my head, a place to sleep and never went hungry. God gave me the gift of music and creativity; most of which got their start on Saturday afternoons with my Barbie doll crew in tow. He has kept me safe from harm.

In college, He guided my steps to CRU; to the place where He would begin to utilize me for His Kingdom and glory. He provided an exceptional worship leader to encourage me. He opened the doors to my first mission trip and then on to Oasis, the college ministry at Brookings Wesleyan, where I spent the next six years playing for Him. I have friends, both near and far. He provided a job in Sioux Falls after graduation and several places to live.

A year and a half ago, He opened a window to where I am today through my pastor asking if I would join them in planting a church in Minneapolis. He has since paved the way by providing housing and shelter, a job downtown and now a place to live. He has brought all of us from the Vine here and He continues to bless that ministry by allowing it to grow. He has blessed me beyond what I deserve and my cup overflows.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

