Week 35: Annual Recipe Extravaganza

Food sometimes equals comfort…at least for me. And maybe that’s my problem. J Then again, maybe not.

Several of my childhood memories consist of my mother, sister and I toiling away in the kitchen. I remember making applesauce and canning sweet corn every summer. The smell of Ziploc bags still gets me every time. I remember baking (mostly in the winter as the summers were too hot) and cooking (year round). There was some sort of magic in creating a meal or trying out a new recipe.

Every year for the past three years, my mom and I have set aside one weekend prior to the holidays where we just go crazy in the kitchen. We pick up the newest recipe catalog by Taste of Home and spend some of our time browsing new recipes online, choose the top ten and spend an entire weekend cooking and baking and then trying them out.

This year, the pumpkin cheesecake and cheesy vegetable bake were solid hits and I can’t wait to try them out at my grandparents’ Thanksgiving dinner on the 24th. It cannot come soon enough!

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

