Week 25: My Bucket List

Recently, my brother nearly lost three of his five toes on his right foot. Thank God he didn’t. And thank God he wasn’t wearing steel-toed shoes. That would have been worse.

The entire situation just reminded me of how fragile we are; how we can be blown away in an instant. (1 Peter 1:24) I then started thinking about how I want to live mine.

To the full.

Jesus came so that we could have this type of life. John 10:10 reads the thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life.

I don’t want to spend my life chasing after petty things like money, a career or the next big thrill. I want my life to mean something and I want a legacy left behind that God will use to His glory; not mine.

Thus the title of this entry.

Now, I’ll have you know that my bucket list may not be as “normal” as anyone else’s on the terrestrial planet as it has more of a spiritual basis although it does have some similarities. For instance, I long to have a family of my own one day or get another tattoo. But those do not take precedence over adopting a child through Hope International or volunteering for the Minnesota Girls Are Not For Sale campaign through the Women’s Foundation of Minnesota…and more.

Other items have been crossed off – like graduate college and move to Minneapolis.

I could on, but you get the idea.

Here’s my ever-growing list. What’s on yours?

  1. Learn to play guitar and play it well.
  2. Learn to dance (not just in my PJs in the privacy of my home).
  3. Learn to rock climb and go rock climbing.
  4. Learn to scuba dive.
  5. Sky dive
  6. Try snowboarding at least once.
  7. Learn to ski.
  8. Relearn how to Rollerblade and go around one of the many lakes in Minneapolis.
  9. Hike up a mountain.
  10. Be proficient in a second language.
  11. Say “I love you” in as many languages as I can learn.
  12. Complete at least one novel and see is published.
  13. Parachute.
  14. Publish at least one poem.
  15. Write more music.
  16. Learn to play another instrument (violin, cello, drums, electric guitar, bass).
  17. Sell a painting/sketch.
  18. Audition for community theater.
  19. Get my third, fourth and maybe fifth tattoos.
  20. Attend a major sporting event.
  21. See a Broadway play.
  22. Adopt a child through Hope International.
  23. Bungee jump
  24. Skinny dip
  25. Complete a road trip across the nation, visiting all national monuments, parks, and wonders this country has to offer and maybe even checking out some random/odd things like the World’s Largest Ball of Yarn in Iowa.
  26. Swim with the dolphins.
  27. Ride a camel.
  28. Ride an elephant.
  29. Go on an African safari.
  30. Explore the Australian outback.
  31. Learn to run a jet ski.
  32. Ride a hot air balloon.
  33. Go dog sledding.
  34. Go snow-shoeing.
  35. Visit all 50 states.
  36. Travel internationally, both for fun and mission work.
  37. Hang-glide.
  38. Go ab-seiling.
  39. Teach something new to someone.
  40. Mentor a young woman (youth/teen/young adult).
  41. Sleep beneath the stars (without a tent).
  42. Build an elaborate sand castle.
  43. Try something new…just because.
  44. Stand on an active volcano.
  45. Buy my parents a new house.
  46. Fall in love – and continue to walk in that love.
  47. Be pursued.
  48. Get married.
  49. Have and raise a couple of kids.
  50. Adopt.
  51. Own my own home, free and clear.
  52. Start my own business.
  53. Raise money for a cause I believe in.
  54. Help someone else cross something off their bucket list.
  55. Actively smile at one person each day.
  56. Create a new word…wait, I already do that…
  57. Take a full year off from work to serve my community or city.
  58. Quit a job I lose the passion for and pursue something I have passion for.
  59. Go back to school and get a degree in social work or psychology.
  60. Camp at and see the Grand Canyon.
  61. Visit Yellowstone.
  62. Set foot in each of the seven continents.
  63. Visit every major city in all 50 states.
  64. Go on a cruise.
  65. Take a road trip without any destination in mind (in other words, throw my proper planning techniques out the window and go!).
  66. Plant a church.
  67. Lead a worship service.
  68. Serve in another ministry in church than one that I’ve done in the past (i.e. women’s ministry, college ministry)
  69. Take a trip using only public transportation.
  70. Go to Colorado.
  71. Stay at a historic hotel.
  72. View Seattle from the Space Needle.
  73. Take a cab in NYC.
  74. Climb the Statue of Liberty.
  75. Visit Washington, DC.
  76. Attend a concert at Red Rock.
  77. Spend Christmas in NYC.
  78. Celebrate New Year’s in Time Square.
  79. Walk through Central Park.
  80. Leisurely drive every scenic highway and byway in America.
  81. Eat sushi in Japan.
  82. Stand at the foot of the Eiffel Tower.
  83. Celebrate Day of the Dead in Mexico.
  84. Scuba dive off the Great Barrier Reef.
  85. Treasure hunt in the Caribbean.
  86. Learn to surf.
  87. See a pyramid.
  88. Go to Ireland.
  89. Go to Italy.
  90. Go to Scotland.
  91. See Stonehenge.
  92. Stand on the Great Wall of China.
  93. See Aztec ruins.
  94. Try beer.
  95. Explore Machu Picchu
  96. Let past teachers know how they shaped my life.
  97. Tell my closest friends what they mean to me.
  98. Respect my husband now – even if God calls me to be single.
  99. Take a self-defense class.
  100. Learn a martial art.
  101. Volunteer through the Women’s Foundation of Minnesota (or any state I live in).
  102. Advance in yoga.
  103. Take a Pilates class
  104. Reach my goal weight/Be a healthier me and stay there.
  105. Make certain that my parents know how much I love them and care for them.
  106. Make sure that my brothers and sister know how much I love and care for them.
  107. Stand on top of the Empire State Building.
  108. See the new World Trade Center.
  109. Stand at Ground Zero.
  110. Cook a full coarse meal for my family (without any help from my mother).
  111. Visit Mt. Rushmore.
  112. Hike through the Badlands.
  113. Watch all of the Best Picture Oscar nominees.
  114. Participate in a mass food fight.
  115. Volunteer in my community.
  116. Volunteer at a local retirement home or hospital.
  117. Relearn how to ice skate (haven’t been since I was 12).
  118. Learn to water ski.
  119. Plant and grow a garden.
  120. Get my passport.
Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Week 25: My Bucket List

  1. Super-Mom-Wannabe December 1, 2011 at 1:22 PM Reply

    Thanks for sharing! Your bucket list inspired me to re-look at mine, and we share several items (spending CHristmas and New Years in New York, seeing a Broadway production, visit all 50 states, and bungee jump, adopt) How cool! I thought about instead of having a New Years resolution having a monthly resolution where I do something on my bucket list: start acting in the present instead of living in the future. I know you will be able to check off many of these lists, and your list is great!

    • Authentic Truth Seeker December 1, 2011 at 1:48 PM Reply

      Alyssa!

      Thank you for sharing that comment. I truly appreciate the thoughts and additional insight. I, too, have enjoyed reading yours and will comment as the need arises. Thank you for sharing in on my journey. I’m thankful to be a part of yours, Josiah’s and Emsley’s as well!

Leave a Reply

