Week 24: Fall: The Season of Seasons

Winter is an etching, spring a watercolor, summer an oil painting and autumn, a mosaic of them all. ~ Stanley Horowitz

Fall.

Crisp autumn air.

Leaves changing from ever green to blood reds, blazing oranges, golden yellows and corduroy-slack brown.

A season for change.

My favorite.

The sweaters and hoodies breaking out.

Boots join the fashion scene.

Classes start up again for many people. Gone are the days of freshly sharpened number two pencils thanks to the arrival of the mechanical ones. I do not miss pencil shavings.

Hot chocolate, apple cider and coffee (for some) reappear, as well as the company that usually goes with them.

Feeling like a kid again.

And, did I mention the décor that gets pulled from storage at both my parents’ and my own home? I’m smiling just thinking about it. Ah…

It’s also my favorite time of the year; a time that stretches from September 1st all the way through the New Year. Yes, I know…fall ends on December 21, but note that I said time of year, not favorite season (even though that statement itself would also be correct). Fall just happens to land in the midst of that block of time and I do love the colors.

The quote above is so true. Winter sketches out the painting. Spring brings watercolors and summer, the oils. And fall…well…it is truly a mosaic. Everything meshes into one and fire burns through it all. B-E-A-U-tiful!

I remember raking leaves as a kid. It was easy to get the world’s largest pile (at least according to my short stature at the age of six) when we had more than six acres of what used to be a lush lawn in our backyard. I would then proceed to make a mess of it all by jumping into that very same pile…multiple times. I still do in my twenties. I wouldn’t be fully living if I didn’t toss in a little bit of fun now and then.

Have you taken the time to feel like a kid again?

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

