Week 20: Family: The Good and the Bad

Not having the full-fledged support of one’s family is hard. Personally, I never thought I would live to see the day when this would happen in my own family. We had always been a close bunch and still are, for the most part.

When I was first asked if I would pick up everything and move to Minneapolis for the glory of God and His Kingdom, I thought my parents would be all for it. But several members were not. They thought I should be getting paid for the position I would hold when all it would require of me was one to two nights of practice per week and my weekends (according to them). They had forgotten to mention the daily living that plays a huge part in leading worship/being up front. I’m not called to live my life the way God wants me to for an hour or two every Sunday and then sporadically pop up during the week at Bible studies, group gatherings and service opportunities like a submarine and then live however I choose to during the week. That’s not right; nor does it sit right with me.  And it goes for everyone.

But that didn’t make the comments sting any less.

I thank my God that He gave me a strong will and desire to do what He called me to do. I also thank Him for giving me a strong family of brothers and sisters in Him who are there to build me up when I am weak/down and who are there to correct me when I begin to stray.

Recently, I attended a service at a church where the sermon evolved around being the me I was called to be. Part of the pastor’s point had been how family can hold us back. He pointed out how families with welfare stay in that program, generation after generation. He pointed out how individuals who attempt to rise above their means get cut down, rather than built up. I couldn’t help but remember how mine had attempted to do just that.

He made an example out of Jacob. How generation after generation in his family had a tendency to lie. How Abraham lied about Sarah being his wife. How Isaac did the same thing with Rebekah. How Jacob lied to Isaac to obtain the blessing and then traded soup with Esau for the birthrite. And, finally, how Laban deceived Jacob by giving him Leah, his firstborn daughter, over Rachel, the woman he loved and wanted for his own.

Sin can come back, tenfold, years later. It affects all involved and more.

I don’t want that to happen with me. I want to live for change and cause greater than myself. I want to live for Christ and His calling on my life. I want to hear Him say, “Well done, my good and faithful servant.”

Leave a Reply

