Week 19: What a Difference a Year Makes

A year ago, I honestly didn’t think I would be sitting here, typing up blog material in Minneapolis, MN and thinking about our new church.

A year ago, I was sitting at the Rock County fairgrounds in Luverne, MN, watching my brother complete his last year in 4-H.

Today, I’m packing my bags for the six hour trek to Yankton SD for a family reunion. I used to live closer…

A year ago, I was training my new boss at work; a rather odd position to be in.

Today, I’m learning new things at my current job.

A year ago, I was contemplating on how to break the news to my employer that I would be leaving.

Today, I’ve left that job behind.

A year ago, I was imagining what life would be like in Minneapolis and was contemplating when to start my job search. Would mid-fall suffice? Or should I wait until after the holidays?

Today, I’m thankful that I waited until after the holidays, although job hunting during a Minnesota winter was not my brightest idea.

A year ago, I was planning a concert at my home church, along with a donation speech for the Vine. My mind was boggled down with production ideas on how the set list should flow, dress details, scriptures, how the stage and foyer should be set up/decorated, and who would sing each part. And more importantly, where would the Vine fit in?

Today, I, along with several other individuals, give to the Vine…both financially and physically. I couldn’t imagine having it any other way.

A year ago, I had no idea what God had in store for this church. All I knew was that we planned to start…(not sure what)…in the spring of 2011.

Today, the planning process is under way. We are growing and are set to launch in spring of next year sometime.

God is good!

Leave a Reply

