Week 14: Anointed

Have you ever considered yourself to be anointed? Have you bought into the idea that only certain individuals could be anointed…not you?

I used to think that. Being anointed, in my mind, went along with what King David went through. “You anointed my head with oil…” I used to think that being anointed only applied to those listed in the Bible, specifically the Old Testament. Prophets, priests, and objects were anointed for varying purposes throughout scripture. A different picture was painted for us when Jesus came in the New Testament.

1 John 2:27 reads as for you, the anointing which you received from Him abides in you, and you have no need for anyone to teach you; but as His anointing teaches you about all things, and as that anointing is real, not counterfeit – just as it has taught you, you remain in Him.

We have been anointed, but with what? Looking back through scripture, I came to stop at the story of Jesus’ baptism.  During his baptism, He was anointed by the Holy Spirit that descended as a dove. Jesus was washed in baptism and was anointed with the Spirit of God. Jesus then stated to His followers that He would send the Holy Spirit who would teach us all things.

A close friend of mine commended my God with a simple statement about how His anointing had fallen on me. This had happened shortly after a time of worship at church and the statement left me humbled in the eyes of a holy God. I was reminded that my gifts are not about me. They are about Him. He freely gave them so that they could be returned in full and used for His greater glory.

I was left thinking, Me? Anointed? I hadn’t thought of myself in that light prior to that statement. God’s Spirit opened my eyes to the fact that I was indeed anointed, by Him, so that I could enter into Christian ministry while in this world. It meant that I had been enabled, entrusted, and empowered to accomplish God’s will. So have you.

In searching through scripture and researching a few other articles, I’ve found the following passages that draw attention to what we’ve been anointed to do.

1 John 2:27 – To be able to discern truth
1 John 5:6 – To testify of the truth
Romans 8:39, Ephesians 6:18 – To be able to pray
Romans 8:4 – To live a righteous life
Ephesians 3:16 – To be strengthened with the power in your inner being
Romans 8:9 – To live in joy
Romans 15:13 – To live in hope
1 Corinthians 12:4 – To receive spiritual gifts
Galatians 5:22-23 – To bear spiritual fruit

This anointing opens our minds, teaches us, guides us, calls us to pray, empowers us, and enables us to be strong Christians. It also enables us to use our gifts and talents to His greater glory. And it can only be attained through the cross on which Christ gave His life in sacrificial love for all of us.

Do you believe that you’ve been anointed to do His work?

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

