Week 12: What Are They Searching For?

In reference to Uptown, my pastor recently posed this question to our study group. While it left us baffled, it also left us wrestling a number of other questions individually: How will God use me in giving them what they’re searching for? Has He equipped me enough to offer what they’re looking for? And what will that look like?

I’m a planner – an extremely organized one – and I like to know what’s happening and when. Granted, I do like a small reprieve now and then, but for the most part…I like to have my day mapped out so I know what step to take next.

God has really been stretching me in that fact that it’s okay to not be in control all the time. He has the Vine under control and I don’t necessarily need to know all the details just yet. He will reveal those in His good and perfect time.

We had been discussing the demographics of the Uptown area as well as why some churches have not flourished there. Could it be a lack of faith and trust in the Holy Spirit? Could be because that particular group relied on themselves rather than God? Could it be because of a spiritual stronghold, something that is hard to tap into? Or, could it be all of the above? These questions and more started our thought processes spinning.

I found myself thinking back to my walk prior to deciding to follow and honor Him with my life. Sure – I grew up in a Christian household and came to know and understand Christ and who He was at the young age of four, but it wasn’t until college when I made the decision to give Him my life. Since then, it’s been a story woven with surrender, humility and love.

[Be confident in this], that He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. Philippians 1:6

Prior to making that decision, I remember searching for fulfillment in everything besides Him. I didn’t necessarily want to be popular in school, but I wanted to fit in and not be stuck at the bottom of the ladder. At the time, I didn’t think I would ever make it up to the top (or close to it); that I would be stuck there for life. I went through cycles with the group of friends I had chosen and looked for attention from the boys on occasion. I wanted to play the piano at church and wasn’t allowed to because I wasn’t “Christian” enough. (What kind of label was that any way?)

I’ve since found my fulfillment in Christ. Now, I’m not perfect and on occasion, I have chosen to wrong option, but He continuously takes me back even though I am not worthy.

Perhaps they’re seeking that same fulfillment. Question is, how will we portray that God is enough to them? Or better yet – how will God portray Himself to them through us?

Leave a Reply

