Week 9: Chill

Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world gives, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.
John 14:27

 

Things at my job have been quite a bit intense the last couple of weeks. Imagine anything that go wrong with behavioral or mental health and the repercussions of it and you get the idea. Some blame it on the full moon; others blame it on the world with all its chaos.

Even though we have a constant steady flow of “traffic” coming through the office, I do not want to be the person who hardens themselves against what surrounds them. Christ calls me to be compassionate and filled with peace. Yet, I find it hard to be at peace with so much turmoil – death and destruction – going on in the lives of those I come into contact with on a daily basis, whether I know it or not.

I know and understand the benefits of relaxing for physical and mental health, but how can I allow my soul to relax with all of this could on?

The answer: God’s Word, prayer and accountability.

I’ve discovered that by turning to His Word on the bus ride home has helped. Kudos to whoever came up with the idea for the pocketbook Bible. I’ve had mine for nearly three years and the edges are tattered and torn from the use.

Keeping my team up to date and in the loop on the goings on of my life both at work and at home has helped immensely as well. We’ve been able to gather in prayer weekly and knowing that we continue to pray for one another outside of those get-togethers sooths peace into my soul.

Having that one person or two call, just to see how I’m doing offers so much more. Accountability to God and others is the foundation for freedom and liberty. It also brings growth and maturity with the freedom to be what God has created us for. I’m free from feeling overwhelmed and okay with the fact that I can’t handle it all on my own. I need Him. I need my team; my family of other believers. We need each other.

Leave a Reply

