Week 4: Seeking a Healthier Lifestyle

1 Corinthians 10:31 So whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.

Finally!

That one word sums up my gym quest here in the Twin City metro area. I’ve been in the area a little over two weeks and haven’t been to the gym in over two months due to the chaos and last-minute tasks of my last job and the full time job it took to find the one I have. And, oh, how I’ve missed it!

I’ve struggled with my weight the majority of my life. I was a scrawny kid but once I hit the pubescent age, it was like the freshman fifteen several times over. Add to that the fact that diabetes runs in my family and you can see why I want to put an end to it now. I also want to do so to the glory of God, not just for my benefit.

Based on the Word, God created our bodies and instituted all of its laws and functions. God gave it life which was to be full and perfect, without pain, without disease and without end. The interference with that plan came when man chose their own route rather than following God’s, causing man to fall. Sin brought death and our need became life. Jesus came to give that life back, but due to the sin that still runs rampant in this lifetime, our earthly bodies are not perfect.

Scripture is also full of ways in which we are to take care of ourselves. Take 1 Corinthians 10:31 list above for example. I don’t want to be filling myself up with fast food and things that are not good for me. I would rather be healthy so I can focus on the greater work He has called me to.

God knows what is best for my body. It is my duty to take care of it the best that I can while on this planet and He’ll handle the rest. That means eating what’s right and doing something physical on a regular basis. I don’t know about you, but I wasn’t created to sit all day. I was born to dance!

I wanna live like there’s no tomorrow
I wanna dance like no one’s around
I wanna sing like nobody’s listening
Before I lay my body down
I wanna give like I have plenty
I wanna love like I’m not afraid
I wanna be the woman I was meant to be
I wanna be the way I was made

– Chris Tomlin

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

