Week 4: In Love with the City

I’ve never been in love…till now.

That opening statement gave you pause, didn’t it? Just so we’re clear, I’m not talking about a man. I’m talking about this amazing, vibrant city I find myself living in.

Minneapolis. A city full of vibrant colors and creative energy.  She’s full of art, culture and more; from cuisine to theatre, dance and art, there is something for everyone, no matter the taste.

Perhaps that’s why I love it so much.

I’ve spent the majority of my time here the last couple of weeks getting used to my surroundings and exploring the cities. I work downtown and exploring the streets of Minneapolis has quickly become a favorite thing to do, especially during those the thirty minutes of freedom I have to step away from my desk at the office. Not only am I out and about, moving after sitting in a chair at a desk for four hours, but I’m seeing the city with a new set of eyes. Not those of the aforementioned starry-eyed, eight-year-old child who fell in love with the skyline from a distance, but those of a new resident, starting over in this city.

It’s almost surreal, walking around downtown Minneapolis. All the concrete, glass and steel seem to be from some virtual realm, if only you could touch it. Up close, you realize that it’s just concrete, glass and steel. Rather bland and dull. But when you step back and see a portion of the bigger picture, your breath catches as you realize that you’re walking among art and creation…a God-given idea created at the hands of man. Seeing the whole picture of the skyline as I commute via bus gives me pause every day.

I’ve also seen other parts of the Twin City area – after all, I’m not living in Minneapolis, yet. J I’ve been to the sculpture garden, the Walker, a couple of different restaurants…but that’s about it in my last two weeks here.

But I’m called to more than loving this city.

I’ve been called to love the people here as well. There are so many lost and broken, those burnt out on religion and those who want nothing to do with it. God called me here to help plant a church with a few of my brothers and sisters in Christ and I pray, that whatever He has in store for this plant will be met exceedingly and no part of the city will be left untouched by His mighty hand.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

