God Moments

Ever have one? They seem to happen in the blink of an eye. If you try holding on, you might discover that there is no stopping time. And, if you’re not paying attention, you just might miss it.

Those moments tend to take my breath away. You are left; your soul raw and this feeling of awe and wonders seeps into the very core of who you are. Words cannot define that
feeling or that moment.

Prior to my move, I found myself at my aunt’s work place: a day services center for both adults and children. Since I hadn’t packed clothing to paint in (I was in town on business and brought attire to go out in), I opted to check out their piano; all the while praying that it would not make my ears bleed the moment I touched it.

Slightly out of tune, it would do. My eyes scanned the room as my heart sinqued itself with God’s (or at least strived to). I saw one of those glass enclosed bird cases in one corner…it was full of beautifully colored birds, silent as could be.

I cracked my knuckles, placed what little music I had brought with me (along with a few blank pages, just in case) and started to play.

Before long, the intro passed and I started singing. Next thing I know, those birds
were singing along.

I felt like a Disney princess for all of 15 minutes. You know, the one that sang
and the birds sand with her? Was it Cinderella or was it Aurora from Sleeping
Beauty? Or both?

I had to stop playing just to listen to them. In that moment, the music wasn’t about me
or the birds. It was all about our Creator and His magnificence. His glory. His
righteousness.

Psalm 8 reads:

 O LORD, our Sovereign,
how majestic is your name in all the
earth!
You have set your glory
above the heavens.

Out of
the mouths of babes and infants
you have
founded a bulwark because of your foes,
to
silence the enemy and the avenger.
When I look at your heavens, the work of
your fingers,
the moon
and the stars that you have established;
what are human beings that you are
mindful of them,
mortals
that you care for them?
Yet you have made them a little lower than
God,
and
crowned them with glory and honor.
You have given them dominion over the
works of your hands;
you have
put all things under their feet,
all sheep and oxen,
and also
the beasts of the field,
the birds of the air, and the fish of the
sea,
whatever
passes along the paths of the seas.
O LORD, our Sovereign,
how majestic is your name in all the
earth!
Isn’t He great?

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

