Secrets and Simple Pleasures

I recently had a conversation about random secrets. Granted, this conversation took place late at night and most of us know how I get after a certain time of the
day…

My friend had shared something personal with me and I couldn’t for the life of me
conjure up anything equivalent in my own life. I’m still pondering
it!

It was during this pondering that I discovered that I really don’t have many secrets.
Sure, there are those I don’t tell anyone and those that have their time and
place, but one so readily available? No. I’m pretty open about who I am; where
I’m at, what my goals are and all the other good stuff that comes along with it.

Then, I found myself thinking about the simple pleasures of life. I have a whole list.

People
watching.
Discovering I have another 30
minutes to sleep.
The post-workout feeling after
a great workout at the gym.
Berries.
Period.
Being
barefoot.
Good
music.
Coffee.
White mochas to be specific.
Catching both the sunrise and
the sunset all within a day’s time.
Taking a walk.
Hershey’s
Hugs.
Hugs in
general.
Smells that remind me of home
and bring to mind other good memories – a time with a friend,
etc.
A long
hot bath.
Reading a good book on a
chilly day.
Checking something off of my
to-do list. Ah, the accomplishment!
Hand-written letters. Rare and
treasured.
Falling snow…but only if
they’re those big fat flakes and there is no wind. It creates a picturesque view
too. Admit it. If you haven’t seen it, you don’t know what you’re
missing!
Nature.

There are so many more that I could list here, but you get the idea. 🙂 Seasons change, people come and go and with each one, more are added to this list.

Happiness is a simple thing, if only you’d let it be. Have a simple pleasuristic day!

Yet true godliness with contentment is itself great wealth. 1 Timothy 6:6

Leave a Reply

