New Beginnings

Oasis: A haven; a shelter serving as a place of safety or sanctuary.

I guess I could start by saying Happy New Year… Although 2011 is a little more than
twenty-four hours away, the anxiety and restlessness I feel for “tomorrow” is
all too familiar. Some may be wondering why. Let me explain.

I’ve been a part of an amazing ministry at my church called Oasis.  Oasis was meant to offer
a haven, a place where college students and adults under thirty could come to
rest, refresh and renew their spirit before tackling life the next week. Every
Sunday evening, we all meet for an hour full of worship, devotions and prayer.
January 23rd will mark six years since the start of this amazing adventure.
There are times when I can’t believe it has been that long.

In March of 2010, the pastor, also one of my dearest friends, and our worship leader pulled
me aside and asked if I would join them on our next venture: a church plant in
Minneapolis, MN. After several months of pondering, a few job offers from other
locations of the continental forty-eight, and many late night discussions, I
decided that I would go.

The new church is set to launch in August-October 2011, which will give me plenty of time to find a new job, move
and get settled in a new city. 2011 brings with it adventure, fear, and more
than my feeble brain can imagine. This, in part, is the reason behind this blog.

Starting January 1st, this blog will officially kick off. A word of the day (or week) or a random quote will start off each entry, followed by random reflections and ramblings of the artist behind the scenes. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

